NT COVID-19 hotline 1800 490 484
36 total active cases 363,066 total NT vaccinations (updated weekly) >95% first dose | 91% second dose (updated weekly)
NT COVID-19 hotline1800 490 484
24 hours, seven days a week

COVID-19 Update: Southern Tasmania hotspot revoked

19 October 2021

The Chief Health Officer has revoked Southern Tasmania as a hotspot for the purposes of travel to the Northern Territory, effective immediately.

Revoking the hotspot aligns with the end of the lockdown in Southern Tasmania. Public health controls remain in place across Southern Tasmania including mandatory wearing of face masks outside the home.

Southern Tasmania includes the Local Government Areas of:

  • Brighton Council
  • Central Highlands Council
  • Clarence City Council
  • Derwent Valley Council
  • Glamorgan-Spring Bay Council
  • Glenorchy City Council
  • Hobart City Council
  • Huon Valley Council
  • Kingborough Council
  • Sorell Council
  • Southern Midlands Council
  • Tasman Council

People arriving in the NT from Southern Tasmania will no longer have to undertake mandatory supervised quarantine in the NT. Anyone currently in mandatory supervised quarantine from this area will be able to exit.

For more information about current restrictions in Southern Tasmania, please visit: https://www.coronavirus.tas.gov.au/families-community/southern-tasmanian-current-restrictions

The CHO will continue to review and assess the COVID-19 situation across Australia, and will take into account COVID-19 monitoring and data collection, the extent of community transmission and risks to the NT community.

It is very important that if you have symptoms, you get tested for COVID-19. Book your COVID-19 test online at https://coronavirus.nt.gov.au/ or contact the COVID-19 Hotline on 1800 490 484.