National advice hotline 1800 020 080
1 active case 13,959 tests conducted 30 people recovered
National advice hotline 1800 020 080 For information on coronavirus (COVID-19) call the hotline - open 24 hours, 7 days.

Hotspots Covid-19

Interstate Hotspots - Pre-Travel requirements for travellers

From 17 July, border controls will be lifted for most interstate arrivals.

All people travelling to the Northern Territory need to complete the pre-arrival border crossing application prior to travelling, regardless of the location you are travelling from.

If you have been to, or through a hotspot in the last 28 days you will need to self-quarantine for 14 days at your own expense.

As of 26 June, the Victorian Government had identified six local government areas within their state as COVID-19 hotspots. These situations can evolve rapidly and information on hotspots will continue to be updated.

Plan ahead and avoid travelling  through a hotspot*.

*Importantly the 6 Victorian hot spots have been identified by AHPPC (see  COVID-19 hotspots) and a hot spot is defined as more than 5 non-overseas acquired cases since 1 June 2020.

Download the COVIDSafe app, it helps to support and protect you, your friends and family.


I, Hugh Crosbie Heggie, Chief Health Officer, under section 52 of the Public and Environmental Health Act 2011, consider it necessary, appropriate or desirable to take action to alleviate the public health emergency in the Territory, declared by instrument entitled "Declaration of Public Health Emergency", dated 18 March 2020 (the public health emergency declaration), by making the following directions:

1. These Directions take effect from 11.59pm on 26 June 2020 and remain in force while the public health emergency declaration is in force.

Note for direction 1 – the period the public health emergency declaration is in force has been extended under section 50(2) of the Act. These Directions remain in force during the period of extension.

2. From 11.59pm on 26 June 2020 the following Local Government Areas are declared to be COVID-19 hotspots:

State or Territory Local Government Area
Victoria Brimbank
Victoria Cardinia
Victoria Casey
Victoria Darebin
Victoria Hume*
Victoria Moreland

*Note for Hume - The Chief Health Officer has confirmed that while the Melbourne Tullamarine Airport is located in the Hume Local Government Area (currently listed as a COVID-19 hotspot), individuals entering the Hume Local Government Area for the sole purpose of accessing the airport or by virtue of a flight transiting through the airport are not considered to have been in the hotspot. However, individuals who leave the airport and go out into the local government area would be classified as having been in a hotspot whilst the area the airport is located remains a hotspot.